Announcing The Stage to Screen Blogathon!

Rachel’s Theatre Reviews and I are co-hosting
The Stage to Screen Blogathon
which will take place from
October 17 – 19, 2014!

Screen adaptions of stage plays are always interesting to watch, as the skills needed to create a piece of theatre differ so greatly from that of films. Many people are – understandably – skeptical when watching a stage piece adapted to films, but it is undeniable that they are still popular in today’s film industry. Needless to say, there have been countless films based on plays which have been… well, terribly mediocre, but there, too, have been an incredible amount of surprisingly successful adaptions.

That is why Rachel and I have organised a blogathon centered around that exactly! No matter what your topic is, as long as it is a film adapted from an original stage play or musical, you can write about it! Here you can find lists of films based on plays. For more ideas, you can have a look at lists of films based on the works of William Shakespeare, Tennessee Williams,  Noël CowardLillian Hellman, Eugene O’Neill. And some other suggestions…

  • 10 Things I Hate About You (1999)
  • A Streetcar Named Desire (1951, 1984, 1995) 
  • Anna Christie (1930)
  • Arsenic and Old Lace (1944)
  • August: Osage County (2013)
  • Barefoot in the Park (1967)
  • Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1958)
  • Come Back to the 5 & Dime, Jimmy Dean, Jimmy Dean (1982)
  • The Importance of Being Earnest (1952, 2002, 2011)
  • The Lion in Winter (1968)
  • Long Day’s Journey Into Night (1962)
  • Mamma Mia! (2008)
  • My Fair Lady (1964)
  • My Own Private Idaho (1991)
  • The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)
  • Romeo and Juliet (1968, 1996, 2013)
  • She’s the Man (2006)
  • Steel Magnolias (1989)
  • West Side Story (1961)
  • Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1966)
  • The Women (1939, 2008)

If you are interested in participating, leave a comment below or email one of us and we will pencil you in!

Rachel – rachelcclarkk @ gmail . com
Rosie – therosebudcinema @ gmail . com

We’re not going to assign each participant a different day, but please make sure you publish your post within the dates of the blogathon! Please, though, no duplicates! There are plenty of films to go around, so if the one you wanted is taken, feel free to email one of us and ask for suggestions!

Here are the participants so far!

Blog Film
The Rosebud Cinema 8 Femmes (2002)
Rachel’s Theatre Reviews Noel Coward on Film
Stardust: My Classic Film Fantasies The Odd Couple (1968)
Part-Time Monster Peter Pan
Speakeasy Cast a Dark Shadow (1955)
Chandler Swain Reviews The Tragedy of Macbeth (1971)
Mike’s Take On the Movies Mister Roberts (1955)
Portraits By Jenni Life With Father (1947)
Silver Screenings The Amazing Doctor Clitterhouse (1938)
Girls Do Film The Importance of Being Earnest (1952)
Moon in Gemini The Heiress (1949)
Once Upon A Screen Inherit the Wind (1960)
No Nonsense With Nuwan Sen West Side Story (1961)
Sometimes They Go To Eleven Hobson’s Choice (1954)
Movierob Stalag 17 (1953), Les Miserables (2012), Death and the Maiden (1994)
Jax Abbey – Indie Author The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)
Cheap Thrills, Guilty Pleasures Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1958)
Eclectic Alli Rent (2005), Evita (1996), Into the Woods (2014), The Phantom of the Opera
A Person In the Dark Sally (1929)
Phantom Empires Gaslight (1940)
Critica Retro The Blue Bird (1918, 1940)
The Great Katharine Hepburn The Glass Menagerie (1973)
Popcorn Scorn Terence Rattigan on Screen
Thrilling Days of Yesteryear Death of a Salesman (1951)
Movies Silently A Midsummer Night’s Dream (1909)
Mildred’s Fatburgers These Three (1936)
A Shroud of Thoughts Arsenic and Old Lace (1944)
Motion Picture Gems Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1966)
Sister Celluloid Journey’s End (1930)
Outspoken & Freckled Amadeus (1984)
ClassicBecky’s Brain Food Come Back, Little Sheba (1952)
Reviews and Ruminations Pygmalion (1938)
Movie Movie Blog Blog Glengarry Glen Ross (1992)
Second Sight Cinema Stage Door (1938)
Voiceover Movies This Property is Condemned (1966)
The Joy and Agony of Movies Six Degrees of Separation (1993)
Lets Go To The Movies Stage and Screen – a general post
Curtain Fall Reviews A Streetcar Named Desire (1951)

Please help yourself to one of these banners to put on your blog to help promote the event!

                  

This entry was posted in Stage to Screen Blogathon. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Announcing The Stage to Screen Blogathon!

  1. Wow, this looks exciting but I’m not sure what I could do. I’ve already got a list of movies I have to watch for other blogathons (including a pile of Cronenberg films) so I’ll have to think about this one.

  2. Diana says:

    Oh, oh, how fun! I’d like to put myself in for Peter Pan, though I’m not quite yet ready to commit to any one version. 🙂

    • Rosie says:

      Not to worry, I’ll pencil you in for Peter Pan and you can always change your topic at a later date if necessary! I’m looking forward to your post!

  3. Hmmm … I’m torn between The Odd Couple and Hamlet.

  4. Sounds splendid. I wouldn’t mind tackling Polanski’s version of “The Tragedy of Macbeth” if it isn’t already taken.

  5. Can you sign me up for “The Amazing Dr. Clitterhouse” (1938), pretty please?

    This is going to be terrific!

  6. Oh I’d love to participate and I’d like to write about Life With Father, which was a Broadway hit before it was turned into a movie. I blog at wordpress at Portraits by Jenni

  7. movierob says:

    Great idea. I’d love to participate, just have to decide what to review!

  8. girlsdofilm says:

    This looks like a fun blogathon! I’d love to write about The Importance of Being Earnest, specifically the 1952 adaptation by Asquith.
    Can’t wait!

  9. movierob says:

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    check out The Stage to Screen blogathon that will be going on in October. Perhaps some of you guys might be interested in joining in

  10. Aurora says:

    Hello! Fantastic topic and I’d love to write about INHERIT THE WIND. Let me know if it’s OK/available.

    Thanks!

    Aurora
    Once Upon a Screen

  11. Love to take part. May I have ‘West Side Story’ please????

  12. nicollzg says:

    Hi, I’m interested in doint Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, pretty please.

  13. FlickChick says:

    Can you please sign me up for “Sally” (1929)?
    my blog is “A Person in the Dark” (http://flickchick1953.blogspot.com/)

  14. I would love to do “Anna Christie”. My blog is “Crème de la Crème” (http://ingegregusch.blogspot.com/.

  15. says:

    Ah, Rosie, this was a difficult theme! Soooo many wonderful movies to choose. I’d like to write about both the 1918 and 1940 versions of The Blue Bird.
    I’m Le from Critica Retro.
    Kisses!

    • Rosie says:

      I always love your posts so I’m excited for this! Not writing anything on the ’76 version of The Blue Bird though? Thank you for your enthusiasm as usual! x

  16. May I write about Katharine Hepburn in THE GLASS MENAGERIES (1973)? I will be posting on margaretperry.org

  17. Pingback: Saturay Feature: If We Were Having Coffee . . . | Part Time Monster

  18. I would love to participate! If it’s not already taken, put me down for “Glengarry Glen Ross.” My blog is at http://moviemovieblogblog.wordpress.com

  19. kelleepratt says:

    May I participate? I’d love to do AMADEUS (1984). Just let me know if that’s okay-thanks!
    -Kellee aka @IrishJayhawk66
    Outspoken & Freckled (www.kelleepratt.com)

  20. I regret that I will not be able to participate. I am Inge Gregusch of Crème de la Crème and my topic was “Anna Christie”, 1930.

  21. Pingback: Celebrate the Small Things (8) | Eclectic Alli

  22. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee (#9) Midweek Edition! | Eclectic Alli

  23. Pingback: From Stage to Screen Blogathon: Death and the Maiden (1994) |

  24. Pingback: From Stage to Screen Blogathon: Les Miserables (2012) |

  25. Pingback: From Stage to Screen Blogathon: Stalag 17 (1953) |

  26. Pingback: The Importance of Being Earnest – Anthony Asquith’s frightfully faithful adaptation | Girls Do Film

  27. Pingback: From Stage to Screen: INHERIT THE WIND | Once upon a screen...

Leave a Reply

