I’m ready for my close-up, Mr DeMille!

When I was just a little girl, I asked my mother, what will I be? Will I be pretty? Will I be rich? More importantly, will I marry Colin Firth? 

At the tender age of seven I had the joy of seeing Love Actually for the first time and was introduced to the dashing Colin Firth. And oh how I loved him. His deep brown eyes and brilliant acting skills just made me beg for more. Bridget Jones’ Diary and Nanny McPhee followed and soon one thing led to another and I was, for want of a better word, drowning in my new found love;

The world of film.

It took me many years to realise that a film was not just something to be seen but also to be made. I became aware of the fact that there were directors, writers, editors all working behind the scenes to make it how we see it. Suddenly my dreams of becoming a lemur tamer or the first female Prime Minister of Australia or the next Bree Van de Kamp disappeared. I knew what I wanted. I wanted to make films.

I still don’t know what exactly I want to do, but I have at least come to the realisation that politics is a big no-no for me and that lemur taming is, unfortunately, not a realistic career pathway. On the other hand, I have not, stopped loving Colin Firth since that fateful Christmas ten years ago.

But now, my friends, I am sixteen years old and I spend my time watching films, practicing feminist speeches in front of the mirror,  and writing essays  that were due in three days ago. I hope this blog might be the beginning of a beautiful friendship between myself and films but, in the words of Doris Day, whatever will be, will be, but if it all goes wrong we, of course, have no one to blame but Colin ‘Christmas-Sweater’ Firth.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m ready for my close-up, Mr DeMille!

  1. vp19 says:

    A charming introduction, and I was delighted to discover today that you’re following my blog! (For some background, my blog is called Carole & Co., and as its title implies, it focuses on Carole Lombard in particular and classic Hollywood in general. It’s been up since June 2007 –– more than one-third of your life! –– with over 2,630 entries as of this writing. You can find it at http://carole-and-co.livejournal.com/, the primary site, or our backup, http://caroleandco.wordpress.com/.)

    You have a nice feel for writing and a solid critical sense as well. Fate will decide whether you’ll follow in the steps of Kael, Ebert or Sarris, but your heart is in film, and I appreciate that. Continued personal and professional success…and don’t think you’re too young; the magic of movie history can weave its spell regardless of age. I’m 58 and expect to move to Los Angeles sometime this year to explore Hollywood heritage through the vast research resources in southern California, from the Margaret Herrick Library at AMPAS to oral discussions with those who lived it or knew those who did. (In fact, in a few weeks I’ll be out there to look for an apartment and take in the TCM Classic Film Festival on the side.)

    Again, best wishes.

    • Rosie Alaska says:

      Thank you, that really means a lot! I’ve been reading your blog for the last 2 years (I adore Carole ever so much) but for some reason I hadn’t thought to follow your blog until now so I apologise for that! Ah yes, I hope to move to Los Angeles soon too – I’m ambitious enough to think that I might be able to get into UCLA! Thanks for commenting and I wish you all the best with apartment hunting, and have fun at TCMFF – I only wish I could be there too!

Leave a Reply

